The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo: A Movie Review

“She’s different in every way. “

Title:  The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo
Director:  David Fincher
Release Date:  December 20, 2011
Rating:  R
Genre:  Crime, Drama, Mystery
My Rating:1 star2 star3 star4 star5 star

My boyfriend and I decided tonight that we were going to take our relationship to the next level.  We were going to go see a movie together – something we have never done in the year that we have been together.  I wanted to see The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, and because he is so wonderful, he allowed me to go see it, despite what he wanted.

One thing is for sure … there is definitely good reason why this movie has such a tremendous fan following.  But nothing is perfect, so I will give you the good and the “not so good.”

The movie starts off a little slow.  The real meat of the movie comes maybe an hour into it.  Not to say that the first hour is boring.  By all means, it is not.  It is an extremely dialogue-driven movie.  So if you plan on seeing this movie (which I highly suggest that you do), expect a lot of verbal interaction between the characters.

Speaking of interaction, expect quite a bit of physical interaction in this movie as well.  Three scenes in particular.  Speaking as someone who has been abused, this movie has a strong potential to be triggering to survivors abuse/rape.  In the three scenes that I am discussing, there is 1.  a graphic rape, 2.  a coerced/borderline forced act of fellatio, 3.  a revenge tactic that consists of basically raping the perpetrator.  I believe I mentioned all of the scenes where these acts occur.

Parents, this is not a movie to take your children to.  There is an awful lot of nudity at various times throughout the movie (female backside and breasts are show, I believe the male’s backside is also shown).  Also, there are very realistic sex scenes.

 The storyline was brilliant.  Steig Larrson is an amazing author (judging from the chapter of the book that I did read).  The movie was nearly two and a half hours long … possibly more, and not once was I anticipating the end of the movie.  It had me on the edge of my seat at nearly all times.
This movie takes you on an emotional roller coaster, so be ready for that.  I experienced a wide range of emotions while watching this film, and I know that I’m not the only one.

The Great Transformation

Now let’s talk about Rooney Mara‘s (the girl who plays Lisbeth – the main character in the film) transformation.  First off, I think this girl deserves an Oscar for her performance.  It was absolutely flawless.  It was hard for me to imagine her as anything but the character that she plays in the film.  However, when I looked her up, I was pleasantly surprised.  She is absolutely beautiful.  And the accent that she has in the movie was not her real accent.  In fact, Rooney is from America.

As you can see, the transformation that Rooney Mara had to do for this film is extraordinary. I look forward to seeing more of her work in the future.  And it looks like she’s currently working on a film right now titled ‘Lawless.’  Acting along side her in this film are:  Christian Bale, Ryan Gosling and Cate Blanchett.

Movie Challenge:  2 down, 8 more movies to go!

13 thoughts on “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo: A Movie Review

    • You know, I haven’t seen the foreign ones. I was going to watch them when they came out, but I decided against it for some reason. Maybe I’ll go back and watch them sometime soon. And yes, I totally think you should go see the movie! I bet you’ll love it.

  1. Great review! I still don’t think I’ll see the movie, though, because I read the book. It would be very, very difficult to do justice to a book that good in only a two and a half hour movie.

  2. I haven’t seen the movie yet as I want to read the book first ( got it sitting on my bookshelf at the mo) I may have to get reading fast as you make it sound like an amazing film to watch 🙂

  3. I am positively in love with Rooney Mara and her portrayal of Lisbeth Salander. You said you read one chapter of the book, I highly recommend reading all three. After I did, I’ve realized Salander is the most interesting character ever created in this generation and I’ve embarrassingly fallen in love with a fictional character. Great review, fully agree.

  4. I went to see this film on Saturday and i was really pleased with it! Id orignally watched the sweedish versions and have to say this was much better, I thought the cast was better, and it kept to the book very well (plus the books are a must read!)
    The film was very long but i think it had to be, in order for it to a successful first film in the trilogy!

Leave a Reply

