Paper Moon: A Movie Review

“Times Are Hard.”

Title: Paper Moon
Director:  Peter Bogdanovich
Release Date:  May 9, 1973
Rating:  PG
Genre:  Comedy, Crime, Drama
My Rating:1 star2 star3 star4 star5 star

I finally watched Paper Moon (1973) on January 10, 2012.  It is a movie that I have been wanting to see since early 2006, which is when I first read Tatum O’Neal’s (the main character in the movie) memoir titled ‘A Paper Life.’  In the book, she discusses her life as well as what was going on while shooting Paper Moon.  Some parts of the book were hard to read.  And it was sad hearing about parts of her childhood, but it is overall a great read.  But this isn’t a book review … this is a movie review.  And I’m going to give you just that.

Something you should know about me:  I have a hard time sitting through movies.  I have to take breaks and I sometimes find other things to distract me.  However, this movie was an exception.  I was glued to the screen throughout the entire movie.  It was absolutely brilliant.

The movie is about a young girl named Addie Loggins, played by Tatum O’Neal.  Addie’s mother has just passed away and the movie actually opens to the funeral for her mother.  Addie has only one relative – an aunt who lives in Missouri.  She hitches a ride to Missouri with a man (Mose – who is actually her father in real life) who was at the funeral.  This man may or may not be her father.  Mose is what many would call a crook.  Addie learns the ways of  Mose and becomes a miniature version of him … a much cuter version, of course!  It’s basically about this unlikely partnership that ensues between a young, precocious girl and a dishonest man during the Great Depression.

Movie Challenge:  1 down, 9 more movies to go.

4 thoughts on “Paper Moon: A Movie Review

  1. Look at you! I think this writing business is good for you. Emma the writer. Anyway, I’m a big fan of Sense and Sensibility too – the younger middle sister is my favorite. I feel bad she got pushed over by that guy, but it all worked out for her in the end. luv ya, Kristina

Leave a Reply

