Paper Towns: A Book Review

“If you don’t imagine, nothing ever happens at all.”

Title:  Paper Towns
Author:  John Green
Release Date:  October 16, 2008
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre:  Mystery, Humor
My Rating:1 star2 star3 star4 star

I finished Paper Towns on January 2nd, 2012 after reading it for only a day and a half.  John Green’s style of writing is so captivating … so down to earth.  Nearly anyone can relate to it.

This book is basically about a high school senior named Quentin and his fascination (borderline obsession) with a popular girl named Margo.  Margo is known for going on little adventures and the night after she had an adventure with Quentin, she goes missing.  Quentin takes it upon himself to find her.  I’m not going to give away the rest of the book … I think you should read it to find out more.

Things I Liked About This Book:  The writing style – so enjoyable to read!  The dialogue between the characters was brilliant.  The many quotes I pulled out of this book (amazing!).  The detail and the story line.  The characters were made to love.

Things I Didn’t Like About This Book:  I feel like IF ANYTHING, this book was missing some ingredient to give it the WOW factor.  I’m not entirely sure what that is just yet.

This is definitely not the last book by John Green that I am going to read.

Book Challenge:  1 down, 19 more to go

3 thoughts on “Paper Towns: A Book Review

  1. John Green is so amazing it isn’t even funny. I am sad that only only figured this out a few months ago. Now I am addicted to his VlogBrother videos on YouTube and his books. I haven’t read Paper Towns yet, but I will soon. After I read The Fault in Our Stars, which I’m excited for because it shipped out today! 🙂

  2. I guess there is a part in this book where the main character gets caught with black face paint on. That actually happened to John Green when we pulled a prank in high school. It was hilarious hearing him tell it.

Leave a Reply

